top of page

Pedrag Pale, Zagabria, Croazia 25 aprile 2020


1. Where do you live? Your job?

Croatia, Zagreb. I am a professor at University of Zagreb, Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing. I teach technology and communication skills.

2. Please indicate Your age: below 35 years; 36-50; 51-67; over 67, and your gender

51-67 Male

3. How your working time and work habits have changed?

Not much. I work long hours as before. But I do not waste time on travel and going to meetings. Even then number of meetings is severely reduced. I try to resolve everything through emails and written reports.


4. What has changed in your daily habits? In leisure, socializing, personal and home care, nutrition?

I don’t have much time for leisure. Socializing is on social networks and I do spend a bit more time writing comments than I used to. Nutrition is a problem in the sense to keep the weight under control.

5. Did you take advantage of this period to do something that you promised yourself, but you didn't have time to do?

I wanted to write, to learn but not much time for it, again. I finally (had to) maintain my home ICT infrastructure (computers, network, server) which was long overdue. I do reach out more writing to friends world-wide.

6. In this isolation with whom do you feel most in tune?

Actually, I do not feel isolated. I am most in tune with my wife and daughters and my dance circle.

7. Where would you like to be now?

I am perfectly happy where I am, at home, with my family, working.

8. What do you miss most?

Dance classes. Both dancing myself and teaching others.

9. Did you discover the importance of something that you didn't give any before?

Keeping stash of supplies of non-food items: electrical spare parts like cables, connectors, plumbing spare parts, bicycle tire repair kit, batteries etc.Things we can always buy in the store nearby, except in lockdown. It is a huge waste of time to spend in queue waiting for a simple spare part.

10. Do you think there is something that you have rediscovered and that you don’t want to loose after this period?

Not letting trivialities of business life and low-efficiency activities consume too much of my time.

11. What will change next? What would you like to bring with you when this experience will be over? What would you like not to forget?

Take “preppers” more seriously. Maintain my possessions, keep stash of everything. Do everything I can NOW, not leaving it for later. Seek (relative) independence of shops, utilities, … Get ready for a major, long communication breakdown.

12. How do you perceive change in others? What are the questions you have asked yourself about this situation and that you have never thought about before?

Would governments need to make any emergency regulation if this virus were deadly for everyone, within a day? Would we all than behave differently? Is this all a test? If I were a mentor for a civilization on a remote planet and wanted them to get serious about their join survival, I couldn’t have imagined better exercise: A pandemic killing only weak, spreading slowly, but fast enough to see results now. Imagine if the virus would be more deadly and mostly to young, to those who carry the society on their shoulders? Imagine a virus making women sterile. Imagine virus causing serious deadly defect in children 50 years from now. I don’t think this civilization would be able to survive in any of those scenarios. May biggest fear is that people will learn nothing from this. Everything will go back, as it was. Even worse, many will believe that we have learnt something and that we as society are stronger now. We are not. Nothing improved.

4 visualizzazioni0 commenti

Post recenti

Mostra tutti

Commentaires


bottom of page