top of page

Luisa Barbosa, Barcellona 21 maggio 2020


1. Where do you live? Your job?

I live in Barcelona and work as a science communicator at the University Pompeu Fabra. However, after we got sent home and the alarm state was declared in Spain, I took one of the last possible flights to return to my home country: Colombia. I have been here for two months now.

2. Please indicate Your age: below 35 years; 36-50; 51-67; over 67, and your gender

Below 35. Female

3. How your working time and work habits have changed?

My schedule is much flexible now, but my workload has increased. In general, I adjust my working times depending on the meetings I have: if I have an early meeting I start working first thing in the morning and then take quite some time for the lunch break. If I don’t have an early meeting, then I start the day calmly doing sports and having a distended breakfast. Another thing that has changed is me working late. Sometimes I find myself in front of the computer at 9-9:30 pm, which happened very rarely before confinement.


4. What has changed in your daily habits? In leisure, socializing, personal and home care, nutrition?

Well, an important part of leisure (hanging out, going to the gym, cinema and restaurants) is not possible now, so I have readjusted my leisure possibilities. I do a lot of sports inside the house, I do yoga every day (which never happened before) and I cook three times a day (but the food I eat haven’t changed much, apart from the inevitable change in supplies due to my change in location). Regarding socializing, it changed completely: I have adjusted to virtuality, which can sometimes be exhausting (sometimes I prefer to not socialize but turn off my computer). Also, the pandemia seems to have reactivated some relationships with people I hadn’t have talked for long.

5. Did you take advantage of this period to do something that you promised yourself, but you didn't have time to do?

Not really. But I am now doing yoga everyday, which I never did (or couldn’t do?) before. It is not something I had promised to myself, but it is something I really appreciate and find important.

6. In this isolation with whom do you feel most in tune?

With my couple.

7. Where would you like to be now?

I am good here, but, if I had the chance I would move to a rural house on the mountain, or next to the beach.


8. What do you miss most?

Seeing the sea everyday in Barcelona, and having a coffee in a good café on Friday afternoons. Also dancing with more people and biking.

9. Did you discover the importance of something that you didn't give any before?

The foam of a good coffee brewed in a coffee machine. Fortunately, many other things that I find important and have been missing already had weight for me before confinement.

10. Do you think there is something that you have rediscovered and that you don’t want to lose after this period?

Yoga everyday and reading two books at the same time. And, teleworking a big part of my time.

11. What will change next? What would you like to bring with you when this experience will be over? What would you like not to forget?

The patience it implied, the importance of simple things and the realization of how lucky I am and what I have.

12. How do you perceive change in others? What are the questions you have asked yourself about this situation and that you have never thought about before?

I perceive people around me have undergone a very reflective process. I also see amazing adaptation, sometimes resignation, and also fear. I have asked myself a lot about what freedom means and the role of government in facilitating well-being or just survival.

6 visualizzazioni0 commenti

Post recenti

Mostra tutti

Bình luận


bottom of page